Say What You Mean

20130523-002006.jpg
This evening, J asked me about my work, and after our brief conversation, I realised how little I concern myself with the opinions of others as compared to a year ago. The experience that probably brought me to this frame of mind was the worst experience I’ve had with any person in my humble lifetime. Nevertheless, I dare say that it has changed me.

For a long time, I was afraid to upset anyone. No wait, I was determined to make every conversation pleasant.

“The abnormal mind is quick to detect and attach itself to this quality when it appears in a normal person, and so it came about in college I was unjustly accused of being a politician, because I was privy to the secret griefs of wild, unknown men.” (F. Scott Fitzgerald).

Fortunately, I’ve learned the importance of standing up for myself, without being an asshole. Everyone’s entitled to an opinion, right? So do I. And I always ask myself WWJD? For sure, He doesn’t expect me to be stupid. Henceforth, I have no qualms about speaking my mind (anymore) in any appropriate situation and time.

Leave a Reply

