A Story of Survival

An excerpt from Looking Forward: A Story of Survival: In kindergarten, I announced to my friends and family that I was ‘a woman of destiny’ who spoke two languages: English and ‘cat.’ (My teachers, at one point, had to separate me from my best friend for excluding others when speaking cat.) As my grade school education continued, my pastimes evolved – I taught myself to bake bread, filling our freezer with numberless misshapen loaves of rye. On weekends, I read the newspaper while eating radishes and raw onions. I wore mismatched socks. I wrote, illustrated, and performed a short story in which the starring character was a pair of underwear owned by an aging rock star named Steve…In short, I was a quirky child.”

Do you remember what you did as a child?

My mum wouldn’t let me keep pets. So I kept bottles of rice beetles in jars, covered with cling wrap. One day… those beetles clawed their way out and left me curled up in a corner, fearing their vicious attack!

Leave a Reply

